PodBloom

PodBloom pod sitting in a bowl of water with fruit

It is not water powered. It is electrolysis, and that is more interesting.

PodBloom is a small rechargeable pod you drop into a bowl of water with your fruit and vegetables. The badge on the sales page says "water powered". Four scrolls below it, the maker's own specification sheet lists a lithium battery and a charging dock. The real mechanism is ordinary chemistry, it is worth understanding, and once you do, $59.95 becomes an easy decision either way.

Get My PodBloom →

Washing fruit properly is a small, nagging worry.

You rinse it, you wonder whether that did anything, and you move on. That gap between rinsing and knowing is exactly the space this product is sold into, and there is nothing wrong with wanting to close it.

So here is what the pod actually does, in plain terms, using the maker's own words for the mechanism. It is genuinely real chemistry rather than magic, which puts you in a good position to judge it.

What actually happens in the bowl.

The maker names the process itself in its specification sheet: electrolysis based purification. Here is the chain, step by step.

  1. Chloride is already in your tap waterYou do not add anything. It arrives dissolved in the water from the tap.
  2. The pod passes a current through itThat is what the battery is for, and it is why the device needs charging.
  3. Some of that chloride becomes hypochloriteThe same active compound as dilute household bleach, formed in the bowl rather than poured into it.

This is why the pod can honestly say "no chemicals added": nothing goes in, because the cell makes the oxidant from what is already there. Drawn from the maker's published dimensions and its own description of the function.

What that tells you, and what it does not

The maker claims the cycle removes pesticides, chemicals and surface residue. It publishes no test, no laboratory, no percentage and no method, so treat the strength of the effect as unmeasured. The mechanism is not in doubt, because the maker names it itself. The size of the result is simply not on offer.

One thing worth knowing about the cloudy bowl in the marketing photo: an electrolysis cell run in ordinary tap water discolours the water on its own, from the electrodes and from dissolved minerals, with no produce in the bowl at all. A cloudy bowl is not by itself evidence that anything came off your fruit.

Credit where it is due: there is a real spec sheet.

PodBloom is the rare gadget in this category that publishes one. Reproduced exactly as written on the checkout page, read 1 September 2026. Read the highlighted row.

Product specifications
FunctionElectrolysis based purification
Rated power8 W or less
Charging input5 V, 1 A, USB
Power adapterNot included
BatteryBuilt in rechargeable lithium
Battery capacityTBD, not specified in manual
Charging methodWireless, via its own base
Waterproof ratingIPX7, main body
Max water per cycle3 litres recommended
Max water temperature40 C, 104 F
Weight0.455 kg
Body only5.4 cm across, 9.0 cm tall
In the boxPod, charging base, USB cable

"Battery capacity: TBD, not specified in manual" is the maker's own wording on its own sales page. It means nobody can tell you how many cycles the pod runs per charge, which is the single most useful number for a cordless device you plan to keep on the counter. The other line to catch: the power adapter is not included, so you supply a 5 V 1 A USB plug. Most people own one, but it is not in the box.

Close view of the PodBloom pod and its charging base

What it costs.

Checked 1 September 2026 at the seller's US checkout. Read the total column: the advertised percentages are calculated against a crossed out figure the product has probably never sold at.

Pods, price each and total
PodsPer podTotalShipping
1$59.95$59.95charged
2$47.98$95.96charged
3$35.98$107.94free

An optional one year protection plan is offered at checkout for $4.95. One pod is the sensible start: it is a single kitchen gadget, and with the battery capacity unpublished there is no case for buying three of something whose runtime nobody will state.

What the 30 day guarantee really covers

The badge says 30 Days 100% Money Back Guarantee. The policy it links to, published by the merchant spark-tek.co, adds five things the badge does not: you arrange and pay the return shipping and shipping fees are not refundable; the refund is the purchase price minus a shipping and handling fee; the item must be unmodified with all original packaging; returns go only to an address customer support gives you, with a tracking code sent to support first, and anything sent elsewhere is rejected; and the refund lands within 30 days of the parcel arriving after inspection.

None of that is unusual for a direct to consumer gadget. Just budget for the return postage before you treat the guarantee as free.

Get My PodBloom →

Four claims we did not repeat.

About the photographs

Every product image the seller serves is named chatgpt-image followed by a date, and one is named magnific_make-the-bowl-larger-and. Those are the filenames on the seller's own image server, visible to anyone who looks. You can decide what that is worth. We think you should know there may be no photograph of this object anywhere on the sales page.

Skip this one if

You want proof it works, because there is no published test, no laboratory and no percentage for pesticide removal. You wash more than three litres at a time, which is the maker's recommended maximum per cycle and is a mixing bowl rather than a sink. You want warm water, since 40 C is the published ceiling. You need to know it will last, because the maker itself writes TBD where the battery capacity goes. Or rinsing and a bit of scrubbing already satisfies you, since cold water and friction remove a great deal of surface residue for nothing.

Straight answers.

How does PodBloom clean fruit?

By electrolysis, which the maker names in its own specification sheet. A current runs through the water, and some of the chloride already dissolved in tap water becomes hypochlorite, the active compound in dilute bleach. Nothing is poured in, because the cell makes the oxidant in the bowl.

Is PodBloom really water powered?

No. The badge says water powered, and the specification sheet on the same page lists a built in rechargeable lithium battery, wireless charging via a dock and a rated power of 8 W or less. It runs on a battery and works in water.

How much does PodBloom cost?

Checked on 1 September 2026 at the seller's US checkout: one pod $59.95, two $95.96 at $47.98 each, three $107.94 at $35.98 each. Only the three pack ships free. An optional one year protection plan is offered at checkout for $4.95.

How long does the battery last?

Nobody can tell you. The maker's own specification line reads battery capacity TBD, not specified in manual. There is no milliamp hour figure, no cycles per charge and no runtime published anywhere on the sales page.

Does it come with a plug?

No. The specification sheet states the power adapter is not included. Charging input is 5 V, 1 A over USB, so you supply the plug. The pod, its charging base and a USB cable are what arrive in the box.

How much water can it handle?

Three litres per cycle is the maker's recommended maximum, with a maximum water temperature of 40 C. That is a mixing bowl rather than a filled sink, so plan on washing in batches.

One pod, and you will know within a week.

$59.95 plus shipping, IPX7, three litres a cycle. Real chemistry, unmeasured effect, and a return policy that costs you the postage. Now you can decide properly.

Get My PodBloom →
$59.95one pod, plus shipping Get My PodBloom →